RSS Feed

DON’T MAKE ME DECIDE WHAT’S FOR DINNER!

I pretty much stayed glued to this computer all day, so much so that I bought a nifty table so I can stand and write because the experts say sitting all day will eventually kill me. Not too sure about that, but what does KILL me on a regular basis is deciding what’s for dinner.
After creating all day, although I enjoy cooking, the last thing I want to do is decide what’s for dinner. The protagonist of the book I’m writing now is a short order cook, and that’s what I want to be at 7pm in the kitchen. Just tell me what you want and I’ll whip it up, provided I’ve torn myself away from this computer long enough to go to the grocery store and have the ingredients on hand. But alas, my husband creates and decides all day too, and the last thing he wants to do is play diner.
In the grand scheme of dietary things, I guess it really doesn’t matter. It’s either chicken or fish, good carbs or no carbs, making our dreaded choices seem small.
The obvious answer is to get away from the computer more and save some of those creative juices for the kitchen, but this is me still sitting. Standing…Sitting again. Take out anyone?

About Kim Boykin

I am the author of THE WISDOM OF HAIR (3/5/13, Berkley.) I live in Charlotte, NC with three dogs and my husband, Mike. I write Southern Women’s Fiction, which I know isn’t capitalized, but don’t you think it ought to be? I love to cook Asian, any kind of seafood, healthy but tasty. I read funny, sad, witty fiction and the same type of memoirs. I tend to find an author I like and read everything they’ve ever written. That last book is always a bummer particularly when you’ve fallen in love with a Lolly Winston-type author and she stops at three books. She says she’s been busy doing laundry. Since 2007? Please. When I’m not writing, or searching for my next Lolly, or cooking up something good, I garden. I have 126 rose bushes last time I counted and that was a long time ago. I love to grow things from seeds that I “borrow” from Daniel Stowe Botanical Garden. At one time in my life I was unfairly dubbed a flower thief, so I figure why not?

Comments are closed.

